Gloomhaven

When exactly can I use an item? Can I use it in the middle of a movement or other ability? Can I use items outside of my turn?

menu
During turn
Items are only used during your turn unless it is used as a reaction to an enemy (as per its wording) or during a granted out-of-turn action if the action matches the item's restrictions. During your turn you can use an item at any time, including but not limited to: during a movement, after consuming an element and gaining its effects during attack resolution, or after you have taken all your actions - with the following restrictions: - Must meet all restrictions listed on the card - If an item affects an attack (e.g. adds a bonus, an effect, advantage or disadvantage), it has to be used before an attack modifier is drawn - If an item grants an action, it cannot be used in the middle of another action - An item cannot be used before/during "start of turn" effects nor after/during "end of turn" effects
Related Rule(s)