Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Can I attempt defeating a bane that another character at my location just failed to defeat?

Another local character may avenge your encounter with an undefeated bane by burying a card to encounter it. If the encounter is avenged, first apply effects that happen when the bane is undefeated, ignoring steps and effects that would cause the bane to go anywhere. Then, the avenging character begins a new encounter against the same bane. It works in a similar manner; for example, if defeating the bane would have allowed the first character to attempt to close the location, the avenging character would get that opportunity after defeating the bane. Only one avenging attempt can be made for each bane.
Related Rule(s)