Where can I find additional resources from Paizo?
See the linked section for full details on additional resources available for the Pathfinder Adventure Card Game.
If a boon has multiple powers, can I play more than one?
When you play a boon that has multiple powers, choose only one of them, even if playing the boon doesn't take it out of your hand. This rule applies even if you are allowed to play the boon freely.
How can I tell which cards are promo cards?
These can be identified by a P in front of its level. When upgrading the vault. you may add up to one of each promo card when you add other cards of its level.
What is the Owner trait?
Some cards have the Owner trait, followed by the name of a character. If your character is the Owner of a card, you - and only you - may treat it as if it is level 0.
Where can I learn more about feats?
Refer to the linked Rules: Feats section for full details.
Who can take the loot card we were just rewarded with?
Any character in the party may take it; when rebuilding (see the Rebuilding section for more details), that character's deck must still conform to their deck list, but they may keep the Loot card although its level is higher than the most recently played scenario's #.
What happens if no one wants a loot card?
Put it in the vault
If no character takes the Loot card, put it in the vault.
What can I use hero points for?
During a scenario, you can spend 1 hero point to reroll the dice on your check (see the Roll the Dice section for more details). After a scenario, you can spend all of your hero points (minimum 1) to return from death (see the After the Scenario section for more details). You can only spend a hero point to gain a feat when it is awarded to you.
If I just got a hero point, when can I spend it to gain a feat?
When you are awarded a hero point. you can immediately spend it to gain a feat (see the Feats section for more details). If you don't spend it to gain a feat, draw a hero point marker and keep it with your character until you spend it; when you spend it, return it to the box. You can only spend a hero point to gain a feat when it is awarded to you.
If a power or effect refers to "any number" of something, can I choose 0?
When a power or effect refers to 'any number' of something, that number must be at least 1.
What do I do if a card requires me to shuffle a proxy for my character into a location?
Some cards require you to shuffle a proxy for your character into a location. Use any proxy card that isn't being used in the scenario, and set your pawn on its side. While your proxy is in a location, you may explore, encounter cards, and play cards, but you can never move, and you must evade any banes you encounter. When the proxy is examined, encountered, or would be removed from the game, return it to the vault and set your pawn upright.
What happens when a power blesses my check?
See the linked Rules: Bless section for full details.
Can I choose to fail a check?
If you are instructed to attempt a check, you must do so, although you may choose to fail; if you do, your result is 0.
What does a card's power come into effect?
See the linked Rules: Active and Optional Powers for full details.
How do I heal?
When a power heals you, shuffle the specified number (and, if specified, type) of random cards from your discards into your deck. If you're discarding a card to heal yourself, exclude that card from the cards you are healing.
Can I exchange character roles between sets?
When the same characters or cohorts appear in different sets, they are represented with different cards having different abilities and powers. To distinguish between them, we add the name of the set the card came from to the card name. For example, "Core Set Ezren" is a different card than "Rise of the Runelords Ezren," so you may not exchange roles between them.
Can I move to my current location?
You may choose to move to your current location only if there are no other locations you can move to. Some effects can also move you to your current location. When this happens, do not apply any effects that happen when you move.
What does the # symbol represent?
The symbol # is shorthand for the number of the adventure you're currently playing. For example, if a card's check to defeat is listed as "10+#" and you're playing a scenario in adventure 1, the check to defeat is 11 (10+1); if you're playing in adventure 2, it's 12 (10+2). If it's listed as "10+##" and you're playing a scenario in adventure 1, that's also 12 (10+1+1).
Does a card name have any bearing on its traits?
Don't confuse traits with card names: "a Giant monster" is a monster that has the Giant trait, not necessarily any monster that has the word "Giant" in its name.
If I'm told to ignore something, can it still have some effect on me?
What is the hierarchy for while rules overrule others?
See the linked Rules: The Golden Rules section for full details.
Can another character encounter a card or attempt a check for me?
Are there any tips I should keep in mind when playing?
See the linked sections for several concepts to keep in mind while playing.
Are there any suggested starting decks for the characters?
See the sections linked here for suggestions on starting decks for all the characters.
What do I need to know when drawing my first hand?
The front of your character lists a hand size; draw that number of cards from your deck. The back of your character lists your favored card; if it gives you a choice, choose 1 for the scenario before drawing. If you didn’t draw at least matching card, set aside your hand and draw again, repeating as needed until your and contains at least 1 favored card. If you set aside enough cards that you can’t draw up to your full hand size, draw all the remaining cards, then shuffle the set-aside cards into your deck and draw the rest of your hand. Once you have a full hand that includes your favored card, shuffle the set-aside cards back into your deck.
Can multiple characters start in the same location?
Can characters trade cards from their decks before the game starts?
Characters may trade cards from their decks with each other. After trading, each character’s deck must still conform to their deck list.
What does the play area look like when it's set up?
See the example in the linked Play Area Example section.
What's the process for setting up a game?
See the series of linked sections for the full details on how to set up a game.
Can I use older cards with this set? Can I use these rules with older sets?
To use older cards with this set, or to use these rules with older sets, apart from keeping game term changes in mind, there are just a few things that need special consideration. See the linked Compatibility with Older Sets section for a full list.
Have any rules changed for this game?
See the linked Rules Changes section for a full list of rules that have changed.
Have any game terms been replaced? Which ones?
We simplified some game terms without changing their meaning. The adventure deck number of a scenario is called #, while the adventure deck number of a card is its level. The box is now the vault. “Before you act” is now before acting (the same is true for “after” and “while” acting). “Discard piles” are just discards, and “reset your hand” is simply reset. A character’s Card List is now their deck list. “Summon and build a location” is add a new location. “Location decks” are just locations, and the “blessings deck” is the hourglass, so deck now refers only to character decks. “Permanently closing” is just closing.
What new terms have been introduced with this game?
We gave simple names to some existing concepts. Blessing a check adds a die to it. You suffer damage, and healing shuffles random cards from your discards into your deck. Local refers to things at your location, and distant to things at other locations. Playing a card by putting it on top of your deck is called reloading. You bury cards in your bury pile.
What are the new game features for the Pathfinder Adventure Card Game?
See the linked section for full details of the new game features.
Is there an example of play somewhere that can guide me through a few turns?
See the linked sections for an example of game play through several turns.
Can I make my own cards? What's the process for creating my own card?
See the linked Make Your Own Cards! section for full details.
How do I join or learn more about the Pathfinder Adventure Card Society?
If you want to play at conventions or game store events, or you just want more scenarios to play at home, check out the Pathfinder Adventure Card Society organized play program. To join in the fun, visit paizo.com/pathfindersociety/acg and get started by downloading the Pathfinder Adventure Card Society Guide. Then find an Adventure Card Society event at paizo.com/organizedplay/events, or run your own!
Where can I find more information about the Pathfinder Adventure Card Game?
Visit paizo.com/pacg, where you’ll find FAQs, rules updates, character sheets, links to videos of people playing the game, the latest Pathfinder Adventure Card Game news, and more. You’ll also find the Pathfinder Adventure Card Game forums where you can interact with other players and the people who made the game.
What are the types of Boon cards?
See the linked Card Types: Boons section for full details.
What are the types of Bane cards?
See the linked Card Types: Banes section for full details.
What is a Proxy card?
See the linked Card Types: Proxies for full details.
What is the Story Bane Roster?
Each Adventure Path includes 1 or more of these cards, providing a categorized list of story banes for that Adventure Path. When an effect requires a random story bane from one of these categories, randomly choose it from the appropriate story bane roster. When an effect requires a random story bane and no category is specified, randomly choose a category first. If you randomly choose a story bane that is not available, randomly choose another. The story bane roster for The Dragon’s Demand is on the back of the wildcard The Onslaughts.
What is a Wildcard?
These cards have powers that increase the challenge of the game. See the Add Wildcards section for more details.
What is a Scourge card?
These cards have lasting negative effects. When a card tells you to suffer a scourge, if that scourge isn’t already displayed, draw it from the vault and display it, then choose a marker design that isn’t already in use and mark it. Then place a corresponding marker next to your character. While so marked by a scourge, that scourge’s powers apply to you. If you suffer a scourge that you already have a marker for, the scourge has no additional effect; do not add another marker. If you encounter a scourge in a location, immediately suffer it; the encounter is over. Some effects cause a scourge to mark a location. If you’re at a location when it is marked, or if you end your turn at a marked location, suffer the corresponding scourge. Powers that remove scourges remove them only from characters, not locations, unless they specifically say otherwise. When a power removes a scourge, remove the marker from the character or the location as appropriate, and if no characters or locations currently suffer the scourge, you may return it to the box.
What is a Cohort card?
These support cards are companions that some characters get at the start of a scenario. (The Core Set does not include any characters that use cohorts; they can be found in certain class decks and Adventure Paths.) If the back of your character lists a cohort at the bottom of your deck list, after you draw your starting hand, add your cohort to it. If you encounter a cohort in a location, you automatically acquire it. If you would banish a cohort from a location, you may encounter it instead. Otherwise, if you would banish a cohort, remove it from the game instead; it may not be used in future scenarios, even if it’s listed on your character.
Is a support card a boon or a bane?
What do the different parts of the Location card mean?
See the linked Card Types: Locations section for full details.
What happens if my role gets banished?
If your role is banished, you regain it at the start of the next scenario.