Robinson Crusoe

If I'm told to discard something during an Action and I just gained that thing in the same Action, what happens?

Don't know
This is unclear. According to a strict reading of the rules, resources gained during an Action go to the Future Resources space and are unavailable until the end of the Action Phase, but this only happens at the _end_ of the Action. So there is no official decision on whether those resources can be used to pay a cost that arises _during_ the Action. This unclarity is acknowledged, but not resolved, in an online FAQ document.