Rising Sun

Playing the Seasons


Rising Sun is played over the course of 4 rounds, known as Seasons. It begins with Spring, followed by Summer, and then Autumn. When Winter comes, the game draws to a close. Not much happens as the land falls silent under a layer of snow, and players calculate their bonuses to decide who is the winner.

The phases of each Season:

1) Seasonal Setup

2) Tea Ceremony

3) Political Phase

4) War Phase

5) Seasonal Cleanup

After forging alliances, each Season is divided into 2 main phases: first, a Political Phase, where players play Political Mandates and worship the Kami to prepare their Clans, and position their forces on the board. Second, a War Phase, where the Battles in the contested Provinces are resolved.