Some Pathway cards tell me to put a tile or tiles back into the stack. Is this meant to be random?
No
You may choose where the tiles go according to the restrictions laid out in the card. However, are not allowed to peek at the tiles in the area of the stack that you insert those tiles.
I want to use the Cave-In card, but there are no cracked straight tiles in the discard. Can I use a substitute?
No
You must use a cracked straight tile when activating this card.
A prisoner activated the Memento Mori card. Can a prisoner activate the Stone Crown card on a later turn?
No
The cost of the Memento Mori card does not have any exceptions.
Can a prisoner spend a Nerve to do an extra move after activating a Pathway card?
Yes
Activating a Pathway card does not, itself, prevent Prisoners from spending Nerve as usual.
Follow-up: can a prisoner spend a Nerve to go back to the start of the turn and activate another Pathway card?
No
Nice try. No. Spending a Nerve only lets you move again.
Can a prisoner activate multiple Pathway cards?
No
A prisoner may only activate one Pathway card per turn.
Some Pathway cards cost more Nerve than a prisoner can hold. How do we pay that?
Multiple Prisoners are meant to contribute Nerve to those Pathway cards. The group may decide how to pay it.
A Pathway tile was revealed through a discard from staying or a monster attack. Do we still draw a Pathway card at the end of the turn?
Yes
Set the tile aside as usual and draw a card at the end of the turn.
Can Final Flickers remove a tile occupied by a prisoner?
Yes
If there are no other options. It's a particularly tragic way to lose the game.
Can the Prisoners win if they are all lights out?
Yes
But if it happens early in the game, it's extremely unlikely and we recommend starting over.
Can the Prisoners escape through a Gate in the Hollow?
Yes
It's very difficult, but yes.
Where do I place The Other if all the Prisoners fall into the Hollow as it would climb onto the Main Board?
Sensing a lack of prey, The Other retreats back to the bottom of the Hollow.
The Pit Fiend's attack hits, The Other, a Shriek, or the Dirge. What happens?
These monsters are unaffected by the Pit Fiend.
The Pit Fiend's attack caused multiple Pits to form. Does The Other to move for each Pit they create?
No
The Other only moves once per turn from Pit formation.
The Pit Fiend's attack hits a Shriek. What happens?
The Shriek is unaffected.
The Pit Fiend's attack hits The Other. What happens?
What happens to Keepers if the Other moves over them?
They turn into Pits and the Key they held is lost.
Can I draw a Keeper in the Hollow?
Yes
It creates a very difficult situation.
Does moving onto a Keeper count as moving onto a Key space when ejecting Prisoners from the Hollow?
Yes
Any tile with a Key triggers this effect.
Can the Pathless's attack pass through The Other?
Yes
The Other is unaffected.
A Shriek caught in the Dirge's attack. What happens?
Reposition it to a space adjacent to the Dirge's Pit.
Does the Dirge cause the Other to advance in the Hollow?
Yes
It follows the same rules as normal Pits when it does.
The Other is on the Main Board and you just revealed the final Omen. Can the Dirge overlap the Other?
If the Dirge can be placed without overlapping the Other, it is still placed. If not, the Dirge does not emerge.
The Other is attacking the Main Board but the Dirge's Pit is in its path. What happens?
They don't.
The Other is big enough to advance over the Dirge's Pit, and it continues unaffected.
The Final Omen was drawn, but the Prisoner who drew it is in the Hollow. Where do we place the Dirge?
Overlap the Dirge on the next Prisoner in turn order who is currently on the Main Board. If no Prisoners are on the Main Board, the Dirge does not emerge this game.
The Prisoners are in adjacent spaces but those spaces are not connected. Are they protected from the Light Eater?
No
The Prisoners must be able to see each other without any obstruction to be considered adjacent.
A Prisoner draws a Light Eater when landing and/or while lights out. What happens?
The Light Eater it performs its attack (if possible) and then turns into a Pit, forcing the active Prisoner to Fall.
Can an isolated prisoner who is already lights out be targeted by a Light Eater's attack?
No
Target a different prisoner.
All Prisoners are adjacent to each other when a Light Eater is discovered. Does the Light Eater still activate?
No
Place it as a Pit instead.
The Pathbreaker's attack caused multiple Pits to form. Does The Other move for each Pit they create?
No
The Other only moves once per turn from Pit formation.
The Pathbreaker's attack hits a Shriek. What happens?
The Shriek is unaffected.
The Pathbreaker's attack hits The Other. What happens?
The Other is unaffected. It is much bigger than a Pathbreaker.
A prisoner lands on a Pathbreaker while Lights Out. What happens?
The Pathbreaker attacks the row the prisoner moved from. That prisoner suffers a 3 tile wax penalty and forces them to Fall again as it turns into a Pit.
A Prisoner lands on a Pathbreaker as a result of a Pit jump in a game without the Shrieking Hollow. What happens?
That prisoner suffers a 3 tile wax penalty and forces them to Fall again as it turns into a Pit. The Pathbreaker then attacks the row the prisoner choose to land in and becomes a Pit.
A Prisoner lands on a Pathbreaker as a result of a Pit jump in a game with the Shrieking Hollow. What happens?
That prisoner suffers a 3 tile wax penalty and forces them to Fall again as it turns into a Pit. The players choose which direction the Pathbreaker attacks.
The Endbringer reveals the last Omen. Who does the Dirge center on?
Center the Dirge on the next Prisoner in turn order on the Main Board.
The tile that the Endbringer would discard is a Shriek. What happens?
Place it onto a connected tile on the Main Board, unless it's the third shriek. Activate the Other if it is the third Shriek.
What happens to a Shriek if the Other would smother it?
Take it off the board and set is nearby. Though it's out of play, it still counts towards the next Call to the Other. Discard it after that.
What if a Prisoner lands on the third Shriek?
Resolve the effect of The Other, then land the Prisoner. If this space would now be occupied by The Other, take a 3 tile penalty, go lights out and land on the opposite board.
What if a Prisoner lands on a Shriek by falling or a lights out draw?
If this occurs on The Main Board, the Prisoner scrambles off the Shriek, but suffers no tile penalty and stays lit. If this occurs in the Hollow, place that Shriek on the Main Board, then draw again.
If multiple Prisoners are smothered on the Main Board, who occupies the lowest available row?
Place Prisoners into the Hollow in turn order when resolving this effect.
If the third Shriek is drawn when the Other is fully extended on the Main Board, what do you do?
Advance the Other 1 more row on the Main Board so it reaches the opposite end of the board (REMINDER: the Other normally leaves 1 row open at the end of its last movement). Return it to the Hollow at the end of that turn.
Why is one side of The Other sections dark and the other light?
It's cosmetic. But some groups may find it helpful to track when the Other is in the Hollow and when it's on the Main Board. It may be called out more deliberately in future expansions.
Multiple Pits were made on the board this turn. Does The Other advance multiple times?
No
No matter how many Pits are made during a turn by Nerve or by monsters, The Other only advances up the Hollow once per turn. Only Shrieks can cause The Other to move multiple times during a turn.
When a Pit is made on the Main Board, when does The Other advance up the Hollow?
It moves it the end of the PIT step in the Turn Flow, as soon a Pit on the Main Board is made.
Can a Prisoner charge The Other in the Hollow and/or Main Board?
Yes
But they would still take a 3 tile penalty, go Lights Out, and end up on the opposite board.
Can The Other trigger Wax Eaters, etc.?
Yes
If its movement ends in a Wax Eater or any other motion sensitive monster's line of sight that monster activates. HOWEVER, if The Other's movement ends on top of another monster, that monster does not activate.
A Prisoner in the Hollow moved onto a Watched Key tile. When do they return to the Main Board?
They return to the Main Board during the FALL step in the Turn Flow. Thus, the Key may be taken if they do not already have one. If they already have a Key, it is even possible to pass a Key to an adjacent Prisoner and collect the one on that tile.
A Prisoner on the Main Board moved onto a Watched Key. When do Prisoners in the Hollow return to the Main Board?
They are removed from the Hollow before the PITS step in the Turn Flow. After the active Prisoner finishes lighting any tiles/ resolving any effects, they land in turn order and reveal tiles in turn order. This is all considered part of the same turn.
What happens if there are no unlit spaces in the Hollow when a Prisoner would fall in?
They land on a lit space in the lowest available row and, unless it is a Gate, that space must also be unoccupied.
Does the Hollow loop like the Main Board?
Yes
But only on the sides. The Top and Bottom do not loop.
How do we lose?
The Prisoners LOSE if:
• All 4 Gate Tiles have been lost.
• The Prisoners cannot each collect a Key.
• The Prisoners cannot all bring their Keys to a Gate before the darkness isolates them.
How do we win?
Prisoners win by each collecting a Key, then gathering with those keys on one Gate tile.
Can I remove monsters during Final Flickers?
What happens when the draw stack runs out?
How do I recover from Lights Out?
Join Lit Prisoner
When a LIGHTS OUT Prisoner becomes adjacent via a connected Passage to a Prisoner with a lit candle, their candle is automatically relit.
How many tiles are discarded if a monster hits multiple Prisoners?
3 per Prisoner
When a monster attack hits Prisoners each one will discard 3 tiles. Each prisoner hit may individually spend a Nerve to Block reducing their 3 down to 2.
Can a monster hit another monster?
yes
If a monster attack hits another monster, the monster will attack in a chain reaction.
Will a monster trigger if I move into a pit that is in its line of sight?
no
Monsters can not see past pits. Therefore if you move into a pit from across it or the side the monster will not see movement.
Can I spend the Nerve I gained this turn?
no
Nerve is gained at the very end of your turn, even after discarding a tile for Final Flickers. Therefore it can not be used the same turn it is gained.
Can I spend more than 1 Nerve a turn?
Can I give my key to another player?
Yes
When on an adjacent tile connected by a passage, prisoners may pass a key to another player.
Can a prisoner hold more than 1 key?
what if there are no tiles left in the draw stack while I am falling?
game over
If there are no tiles left in the draw stack when falling you will continue falling forever ending the game in a loss.
What happens if I fall onto a monster?
it attacks immediate
If a falling player lands on a newly drawn monster it attacks immediately. After the attack scramble onto a new tile and discard the monster.
Does falling into a pit mean you die?
no
A player who falls will eventually land on a new tile.
Will a tile still crumble if I stay on it?
yes
The turn after a Prisoner stands on a crumbling tile it will flip into a pit. If the Prisoner stays on it they will fall into the pit that forms.
Will a monster attack if I stay?
how many Nerve can a player have?
2
Prisoners can have at most 2 Nerve.
Can I move past another Prisoner?
no
Paths are too tight for prisoners to share. Only gate tiles can have multiple prisoners.
What happens when I no longer light a tile?
Discard it
When for any reason any tile is no longer illuminated by any player it gets discarded.
How far does my light reach?
1 space away
Your candle lights one space away from you along any paths out of the tile you are on.
Is there an edge of the map?
no
The Night Cage is a cage without bars. From one end of the map you can reach the square on the opposite side.
In a 3 player game who controls the 4th?
4th prisoner marker
During a 3 player game you will give the 4th prisoner marker to the first player. When its time for the 4th Prisoners turn the player with the marker will take their turn, then pass the token to their left.
Where do I start on the board?
On a prisoners first turn they will place their start tile in any unlit space on the board.
Is there a special way to fill the Tile Holder during setup?
Yes
Make a side pile of 4 ‘T’ tiles, 2 four-way tiles and 2 straight tiles. Add 1 four-way and one T tile if playing with 5. Then shuffle the rest of the tiles filling the tile holder with them. After that shuffle the set aside tiles placing them on top of the stack within the tile holder.
Do I always setup 4 Prisoners?
Yes
when playing with 1 - 4 players you will always use 4 prisoners. Only in a 5 player game will the number change to 5 prisoners.
Can I use all the boss monsters at once?
yes
It is highly unrecommended, but you may use any combination of advanced and boss monsters during setup to make for a truly challenging experience.
If I fall onto a Keeper do I get a key?
Yes
As long as you don't already have a key, falling onto a Keeper will result in you obtaining one.
If I charge a Keeper from the side do I still get hit?
yes
Charging a Keeper from any direction except behind will result in you being hit. You will then go lights out and discard 3 tiles. You do get a key in the process.
Which way does a Keeper face when I place them?
Towards you
When placing a Keeper you will always face the mouth towards the prisoner placing it.
Do I use both Key tiles and Keepers?
no
When playing the Advanced Game you will replace all key tiles with Keepers.
Do players effected by a Pit Fiend discard any tiles?
no
Players who have pits created below them by a Pit Fiend fall into those pits before play resumes as normal.
Can you block the Pathless attack?
no
Being hit by the Pathless can not be blocked, and will result in you discarding 5 tiles from the stack.
Are Omens monsters?
no
Omens are only used as a countdown clock until the 2nd has been revealed summoning the Dirge.
Can the Dirge be placed over the edge of the map?
no
No part of the Dirge may be over the edge when placing it.
How many omens are revealed before placing the Dirge?
2
When the 2nd Omen is revealed place it as normal. Then use where you placed it as the anchor point to place the Dirge.
Can the difficulty level be adjusted?