SAVE POSITIONS button is available when a step or steps have been moved to a new position in the flow chart. This feature exists so that the tool doesn’t communicate to the server every time a step is moved, but once the moving actions have been finished it updates the locations with one communication. It simply makes moving steps around a smoother experience.
CANCEL button cancels the moving actions and returns the steps to their previous locations.
Other buttons are disabled until new positions have been saved (or cancelled).
Moving a big amount of steps and then saving all the changes at once might take some time to process. When making bigger changes it's recommended to move them in smaller groups.
Remember to leave enough space between the steps, so that the flow will be easy to read. The same rule also applies to steps that are on top of each other.
Try to have one flow of direction in the tutorial. If you need to "reset" the direction, use logic blocks to direct the flow.