Newton

Frequently Asked Questions

menu
Can you take an action with a value less than the value given by the icons on your desk?
Yes
Yes, you can always opt to not take the full value of your action.
Related Rule(s)
Are potion tokens limited?
No
If you run out of potion tokens in game, use another token or coin to represent potion tokens until you can replace them with the correct token.
Related Rule(s)
Do I pick up bonus tokens when I pass over them?
Yes
If you are the first player to pass over or stop on a bonus token, pick it up and gain the benefit. No other player can gain its benefit.
Related Rule(s)
Who is depicted in the first player token?
Newton!
Sir Isaac Newton, the game's namesake.
Related Rule(s)
Do I remove the development tile from the board when I acquire it?
No
Leave the development tile on the path of the board where you acquired it, and instead pick up the actual tile from the stacks in the corners and add it to your desk.
Related Rule(s)
Do I pick up an Ancient Land tile when I stop there?
No
Place a travel cube on the ancient land when you stop there, do not pick up the tile.
Related Rule(s)
Do I pick up a University tile when I land there?
No
Place a travel cube on the University tile when you stop there, do not pick up the tile.
Related Rule(s)
Can I pass over a special space on the work track and still gain the benefit?
No
You must stop on a special space if you wish to gain the benefit.
Related Rule(s)
Do I always gain money for working?
Yes
Even if you've reached the last space on the work track, you still gain a coin for every value of the work action performed.
Related Rule(s)
When can I take a quick action?
No limit
You may take a quick action whenever you like during your turn, as many times as you're able or desire.
Related Rule(s)
What do the summary tiles mean?
See Quick Actions
The summary tiles reflect all of the Quick Actions available to you. See that section for clarification.
Related Rule(s)
When you place your fifth card under your player board, do you play another round?
Yes
Newton is played over six rounds, so even though you don't have space for a sixth card under your desk, you'll still play the sixth round.
Related Rule(s)
What happens in the event of a tie in victory points at the end of the game?
Shared victory
All tied players share the victory!
Related Rule(s)
Are claimed master cards immediately put into play?
No
Drafted master cards at the beginning of the game are not put into play until you activate a master space on the board(s).
Related Rule(s)
Does the shape on the starting action cards matter?
No.
The shape is only to aid colorblind players tell the difference between the decks.
Does order matter when removing travel cubes?
Yes
Always remove from the top-left to lower-right. Just like reading.
Related Rule(s)
Are all the player boards the same?
No
Each player board has a different starting action on the desk.
Related Rule(s)
Can a space on either board have more than one cube of the same color?
No
Only one cube per color is allowed per space.
Related Rule(s)
How many students start on the board?
One
Additional non-starting students are held near your player board for use later.
Related Rule(s)
Is there a hand limit?
No
You can have as many action cards in your hand as you want.
Related Rule(s)
When do I gain the benefit of an action card
When played
Most action cards provide some additional benefit when part of your desk. These benefits are immediately available to you.
Related Rule(s)
Do I replace action cards in the display when I take one?
No
Action cards in the display are only replaced at the end of player's turn.
Related Rule(s)
When do I receive income from medicine tiles on my bookshelf?
End Round Phase
Added income or medicine tiles placed on corners of your bookshelf score during the end of round phase. These do not correspond to rows or columns of your bookshelf, so you don't need to complete either to score these tiles.
Can a student move backwards along a path?
No
Students may only move forwards along a path, never backward.
Related Rule(s)
How many starting action cards should each player have?
6
Each player gets 6 starting action cards in their player color, one of each type.
Related Rule(s)
Should I remove an Objective Tile when I land on it?
No
Leave the tile behind for others players, but take the association action (or token/s).
Related Rule(s)
Do I remove City Tiles when I land on them?
No
Leave the city tiles behind for the next player, but take the associated action (or token).
Related Rule(s)
Do I remove Invention Tiles when I activate one?
No
Leave the tile on the board for other players to activate, but take the associated action (or token).
Related Rule(s)
Are coins limited?
No
If you run out of coins during a game, use another token until coins are spent and can be distributed correctly.
Related Rule(s)
Do I replace Action Cards as soon as they're taken?
No
Action cards will be replaced at the end of each round.
Related Rule(s)
Are Margaret Cavendish's bookshelf tiles placed anywhere?
No.
No, they are simply removed from your supply, allowing faster access to the pile bonuses. Do not place them in your bookshelf.
Related Rule(s)
What does the lightning bolt symbol mean?
Immediately.
Whenever you see the lightning bolt, you gain the effect posted immediately.
Related Rule(s)
Do I pick up non-bonus tiles?
No.
Any tile or token that isn't a bonus tile stays in the space. Take the action granted by the tile, but leave the tile there.
Related Rule(s)
Where do I put bookshelf income tiles?
On an empty ! space
The edge of the bookshelf has several empty "!" spaces. These are where the income tiles go.
Related Rule(s)
Why are some spaces on the bookshelf filled in?
Free spaces.
These spaces filled in with books already do not need to be filled in by the player, they're free spaces, and count as already having been filled in.
Related Rule(s)
Once a student reaches the last space on a path, what happens?
They stay there.
Once you've reached the last space on a path with one of your students, they may not go backwards or leave that space for the rest of the game. You'll want to start a new student on the track if you want to progress down a different path.
Related Rule(s)
Can I move a student backwards?
No.
Students may never move backwards along a path. Only forwards.
Related Rule(s)
What happens if I run out of Action Cards?
Take no action
If you run out of action cards, you cannot take any actions! Do whatever you can to make sure you don't run out of action cards before the end of the round.
Can I reduce an action given by a Master Card?
Yes
Any action with a value given by a master card can be shortened at will, but cannot be made larger.
Related Rule(s)
Do the shapes on the starting action cards matter?
No.
No, they are there to assist players with colorblindness.
Related Rule(s)
Can I send a student down the same Technology track as another of my Students?
Yes.
Students may freely move down the same path as another student of the same (or different) color(s). However, the last space in a path cannot be occupied by two students of the same color.
Related Rule(s)
Can I play a basic action for less than the available value?
Yes
Basic Actions have a value of how many symbols of that action (including the card just played) are present on the player's desk. The value of the action taken can be this value or lower, but never higher (unless specified by a card effect).
Related Rule(s)
Can I spend coins to increase the value of an action taken by a tile or Master Card?
No.
The spending of coins to increase the value of an action may only be done to increase the value of a basic action.
Related Rule(s)
Can I spend four coins to increase a basic action by 2?
No.
The increase basic action value ability can only be used once per turn.
Related Rule(s)
Can I increase the value of an action on an Invention Tile?
No.
All the Basic Actions which are played as an effect of an Invention tile must be of a value equal (or inferior) to that indicated on the tile. You cannot increase the action’s value by adding the number of the same symbols visible on your desk, or by spending 2 Coins.
Related Rule(s)
What does the ? Specialization Tile grant?
Anything you want
When you gain a "?" specialization tile, you can take any income or development tile you wish, and add it to your study board. Once chosen, it cannot be changed.
Related Rule(s)