How do I play my turn
You can follow the steps on the Quick Reference picture on the game board.
How do I win the game?
You win the game by gathering more Glory than other players.
Can I bring Warriors on a journey that I can't feed?
As many as your longship can hold.
Can I move my Workers after placing them?
Can I place a worker on the Hunting Grounds even if I'm planning to assign my Vikings elsewhere?
You never have to assign any dice to a combat location where you have placed a worker.
If a monster has a Defense Value of 3, can I choose to send fewer than 3 Warriors to fight it?
If I have already 8 warriors in my storage and more are returning from Battle, what do I do with them?
As you assign Warrior dice after placing all the workers, so it's not a scenario that can happen.
Do the Warriors allocated to Ships and battle count towards the Warrior limit?
As you assing Warrior dice after placing all the workers, so it's not a scenario that can happen.
Can I take a blame token instead of resolving a Journey card?
Not in the Base game. In the expansion, Loki's Compass gives this option.
Can I trade with other players?
There's no trading or negotiating in this game.
Is food used for anything else besides journeys and trade?
Besides journeys and trade, there's also a destiny card called "Prepared" that gives you glory for most food at the end of the game.
Is it possible to run out of Journey Cards during the 8 rounds of gameplay?
When I activate a location that would put my Warrior count over 8, do I have to discard the existing ones or from the new recruits?
You are not permitted to take the excess Warriors. If you have 7 Viking Warrior dice already and take an action which says you acquire 2 Viking Warrior dice, you may only take 1 of the Viking Warrior dice you are owed. You choose which you keep and any excess are returned to the supply.
If I exceed 8 Warriors and I'm about to take more, can I discard from my Longhouse to make room for the new ones?
Warriors will not come fight for you if you do not have room for them in your longhouse!
At the beginning of a turn do I place all my Workers to the board and then give the turn to the second player?
As a first player you place the first Worker then the turn passes to the second player. Then on your turn you get to then place another Worker.
Does Ullr score glory for rolling doubles if those dice are then re-rolled?
If you decide to reroll, that result is considered final, so you don't get Glory for the initial roll and the reroll if you get doubles.
What if any of the tokens run out?
The tokens are not limited, so you can use a stand-in for the missing parts.
With the Svanhildr special rule, do blank dice count as results that I can add 1 additional damage?
A blank die is a miss and you can't apply the +1 damage to it.
With the Success Rune Card, when I score the card does other players also receive Glory?
No one else gets Glory for your Rune Cards.
After I put a worker on a Public Longship, do I immediately move it to an empty shore location or is this done in the Combat Resolution Phase?
The worker and Public Longship are moved immediately, but the Warriors are loaded in the Distant Shores phase.
When building a private ship, are you able to use the same worker that built it to go on your journey?
With the Runesmith random card, can I pick any random card from the deck or do I have to take the top one?
With the Runesmith you can take one of the face-up cards or the top card from the deck.
Are rune cards refreshed after each round or only in the case that one is purchased?
Only if one is purchased.
What Merchant Ship Cards are available for purchase?
Only the one on the top of the deck at the current moment.
How do I restock the Merchant Ship Cards?
When you reveal a new Merchant Ship Card, it's placed on top of the previously revealed one. Only the top one is available for purchase.
When I go to Distant Shores can I assign Warriors to battle even if that type is not allowed just to soak up damage?
You can send warriors over that are not permitted, but they will be destroyed before the first round of combat.
If I'm attacking a troll with 4 dice and roll 3 blank ones and decide to use Favor token to throw the dice again, do I lose the 3 dice and get to reroll just the 1 die?
You don't lose any Warriors before the reroll. So you can choose to reroll all the 4 dice (or fewer, if you keep some from the first roll).
If I kill a monster and also take damage at the same time is the monster kill resolved first?
Damage happens simultaneously so even if the monster is killed the damage still happens.
With the Potential Rune Card, do I reroll blanks or do I have to reroll all the dice?
You reroll only the dice that came up blank.
After all the Workers have been assigned, are all the Vikings assigned afterwards simultaneously?
All Viking Dice need to be assigned before the Combat Resolution phase begins.
How many workers can I place in the Hunting Grounds?
There's no restriction how many players can place a Worker there, however, each player can only place 1 Worker in the Hunting Grounds.
How many Food can I collect in a single round of Hunting?
Even if you throw more than 6, that's the maximum amount you can collect.
How do we deal out the Leader Boards?
Beginning with the player to the right of the start player and proceeding counter-clockwise each player chooses a Viking Leader Board.
Do I count glory for killing Monsters and from Market Stalls during the game and count the Glory for everything else at the end of the game?
After I return from a Journey, do I get to keep the left over Food?
All food is sent back to the supply.
Can I choose which warriors to discard if I can't feed them during the journey?
If I travel by longboat to an area where 1 Food can feed 2 Warriors and I have 3 Warriors, does that mean I have to have 2 Food with me?
You need 2 food to feed 3 warriors.
What happens when I'm using Dagrun Ability with the card that isn't kept?
Can I hunt for food, then put the food tokens I get from hunting on the ships sailing that turn.
Do I have to assign food to your warriors sailing over the sea before you roll for the hunting?
The food is assigned on the ship and sent over the sea before roll for Hunting happens.
Which cards get discarded in the Clean-up phase?
Undefeated Trolls and Draugr and revelead Journey Cards are discarded every round In the Clean-up phase.
What does placing coins to "unsuccessfully defeated" Monsters mean?
Put a coin on all the Monsters and that were unsuccessfully fought or not at all. The player who eventually defeats this monster gets all the coins.
Can I place a worker in a place that I do not have the requirement to activate?
When you assign a worker to a location, you are compelled to activate it. If you are unwilling or unable to activate a location you may beg by placing a worker on your player board and taking 1 food and 1 blame.
If I choose to put a Worker on a location without activating it, do I do the begging action with a new Worker or do I have to move that same Worker to the player board?
See the following rule(s) to find an answer to this question.
Who wins the game?
The player with the most Glory!
What happens if two or more players have a tie situation in the end?
If one of the players who are tied have defeated more enemies than the other, that player is declared winner!