Sanctuary

Frequently Asked Questions

menu
Do buildings need to meet the usual tile placement conditions, in addition to their unique placement condition?
Yes
Like other tiles, a Building needs to be placed on an empty space that is adjacent either to the entrance or an already placed tile.
Related Rule(s)
If I cover an Animal tile with a Release tile, do I still get any Appeal or icons from the covered tile?
No
The released Animal is no longer considered to be in your zoo.
Related Rule(s)
What happens if I gain an effect to take a specific tile from the display, but there are no such tiles there?
You skip the effect
Related Rule(s)
Can a single ongoing effect be triggered multiple times per turn (by playing multiple tiles)?
Yes
Related Rule(s)
Can a single tile trigger multiple ongoing effects?
Yes
Related Rule(s)
Can I reduce a tile's strength below 0 (with several ongoing effects)?
No
Related Rule(s)
When I relocate a tile to a new space, do I need to consider what happens to the tiles around its original space?
No
You may, for example, separate tiles into different groups or remove an adjacent Open Area required by a tile.
Related Rule(s)
When I relocate a tile, does the tile have to adhere to all tile placement rules in the new space?
Yes
Related Rule(s)
If I gain the effect to move one of my Action cards to the leftmost slot, do I resolve this effect immediately or after finishing my current action?
After finishing
After finishing means that you first finish your current action and move the Action cards accordingly before using this effect.
Related Rule(s)
Can I skip gaining any immediate or ongoing effects on my tiles or the Zoo map, if I don't want them?
Yes
Related Rule(s)
Can I score multiple separate groups of Petting Zoo animals?
Yes
If you have multiple separate groups of connected Petting Zoo animals, each individual group scores separately.
Related Rule(s)
Does each Petting Zoo animal scores the listed Appeal separately?
No, only as a group
You do not gain the indicated points per Petting Zoo animal, but only for the whole group of adjacent Petting Zoo animals.
Related Rule(s)
If a tile scores for a group of connected tiles, does the tile itself count toward this score?
Yes
Related Rule(s)
If a tile scores Appeal for icons anywhere in the zoo, can this tile score for its own icon?
Yes
For example, a Lion scores 2 Appeal for each predator icon anywhere in your zoo. Since it is a predator itself, it scores 2 Appeal for its own icon.
Related Rule(s)
Does undefined habitat count as any other habitat?
No
Undefined habitat is its own category, separate from Forest, Water and Rock. If, for example, a tile scores for Water icons, do not count undefined icons for this.
Related Rule(s)
If I play 2 Animals in a single action, in which order do I resolve their effects?
Play them 1 by 1
Always carry out all effects that you trigger by playing the first Animal before you play the second Animal.
Do I need to sum up the strength of both animals, if I play 2 Animals in a single action?
Yes
If you play 2 Animals with an upgraded Animals action card, the strength of the action must be at least as high as the sum of the levels of both Animals. For example, to play two level-2 Animals, you need an action card with strength of 4 or higher.
Can I play a card that requires lower strength than the current strength of an action card?
Yes
You may, for example, play an animal that requires 3 strength with an action card that has 4 strength
Can a tile trigger its own ongoing effect when placed (if it has the required icon)?
Yes
Related Rule(s)
Do I gain a Conservation marker if I place an animal pair that is NOT adjacent to each other?
No
Related Rule(s)
From where do I take face down tiles to place as Open Areas?
Your hand
If a tile requires Open Areas around it, you must either place face down tiles from your hand to create the Open Areas, and/or use the Open Areas preprinted on your Zoo map.
Related Rule(s)
Do the preprinted Open Areas count as tiles, next to which I can place my new tiles?
No
The Open Areas printed on your Zoo map do not count as tiles. You must place your first tile next to the entrance of your zoo, while other tiles may be placed either next to the entrance or next to other tiles you have placed earlier.
Related Rule(s)
Can I rotate tiles in my zoo (to choose the position of Open Areas)?
No
You can never rotate the tiles you place - they must be oriented the same way as your Zoo map.
Related Rule(s)
Do I gain a placement bonus, if I cover it with an Open Area?
Yes
Related Rule(s)
Which one do I need to place first - a tile I'm playing or Open Areas?
Played tile
If a tile requires Open Areas, first place the tile itself on your Zoo map according to these rules, and then place the Open Areas (if necessary).
Related Rule(s)
Do I have to take a tile during step 1 of my turn?
Yes
Related Rule(s)
Do I need to move my action cards during step 1?
No
Related Rule(s)
If an effect allows me to take any card from the display, do I need to take my range into account?
No
The “within range” restriction only applies during step 1. If a tile effect or placement bonus allows you to take a tile from the display, you can always take a tile from any position of the display.
Related Rule(s)
If I cover an Animal tile with a Release tile, do I lose all of the Animal's icons, effects and appeal?
Yes
A released (covered) animal no longer counts as being "in your zoo".
In what order do I resolve effects if placing a tile triggers multiple effects at the same time?
Any order you choose
Can I use the my Action card that is already in the leftmost slot?
Yes
You can use your leftmost Action card without moving any cards.
Related Rule(s)
Can I play more than 1 Building per turn if I meet conditions for several of them?
No, 1 per turn only
Can I support more than Conservation objective per turn if I have enough icons for several of them?
No, 1 per turn only
Can I support a single Conservation objective more than once per game (for example, with 2 icons and then with 4 icons)?
Can I use a Conservation Achievement marker that indicates fewer icons than I have in my zoo?
Yes
You may, for example, use a 2x marker if you have 4 matching icons.
Can I support a Conservation objective with Conservation markers only (without having any required icons in my zoo)?
No
To support a Conservation objective, you must have at least 1 matching icon in your zoo. You are therefore not allowed to replace all icons with Conservation markers when supporting a Conservation objective.
Can I upgrade multiple cards on the same turn, if I meet several upgrade conditions?
Can I use the same Upgrade marker multiple times per game, if I meet its condition again?
No
You may use each of your Upgrade markers only once per game (you can upgrade all 4 of your Action cards by meeting all 4 different conditions).
Can I have more than 6 tiles in my hand during my turn (until step 6)?
Yes
You may have more than 6 tiles in your hand during your turn, but during step 6 you must discard tiles from your hand until you have exactly 6 left.
Related Rule(s)
Do we need to meet all 3 end conditions to trigger the end of the game?
No, only 1
Related Rule(s)
If I trigger the end of the game, do I get 1 more turn after my current one?
No
If you have used all 4 of your Conservation markers or have completely covered your Zoo map, take the 10-point End-of-game marker. Then EVERYONE ELSE gets 1 more turn (excluding you). After that, move on to the final scoring. Meanwhile if the pile runs out of tiles during your turn, the game ends immediately after you finish your turn.
Related Rule(s)