Cartographers

Frequently Asked Questions

menu
How do I setup the solo game?
Practically the same
You setup the game as you would normally. The only change is that you don't write yourself a Title.
Related Rule(s)
How do I determine my final score in a solo game?
See the following rule(s) to find an answer to this question.
Related Rule(s)
How do I determine my title in a solo game?
Based on your Score.
Compare your final score with the table. You earn the title based on the highest rating you have earned or surpassed.
Is there a change in how Ambush cards works in a solo game?
Yes.
How do Ambush cards work in a solo game?
See the following rule(s) to find an answer to this question.
Are there any changes in the rules of a solo game?
A bit.
There are 3 changes to the rules: a slightly different setup, the Ambush cards work differently and the final scoring.
What is the goal of a solo game?
See the following rule(s) to find an answer to this question.
Related Rule(s)
Can Cartographers be played solo?
Yes.
Related Rule(s)
Does the Time Threshold differ from Season to Season?
Yes.
Spring and Summer Season have a Time Threshold of 8, Fall - 7 and Winter - 6.
Related Rule(s)
Why is Time Threshold important?
Time Threshold determines when the current Season ends and thus how many Explore cards can possibly be revealed.
Where can I find Time Threshold?
On Season cards.
Related Rule(s)
What is Time Threshold?
See the following rule(s) to find an answer to this question.
Related Rule(s)
Why are Time Values important?
Time Values help you track when the current Season will end.
Related Rule(s)
What is the range of Time Values?
From 0 to 2.
Related Rule(s)
Where can I find Time Values?
On Explore cards.
Related Rule(s)
What is Time Value?
See the following rule(s) to find an answer to this question.
Related Rule(s)
Why are Terrain types important?
You gain reputation by completing the requirements of different Scoring cards. These requirements are often associated with specific Terrain types.
Related Rule(s)
Do I have to fill my drawn Shapes with Terrain?
Yes.
Related Rule(s)
Can I freely choose which Terrain type to draw?
No.
Related Rule(s)
How many different Terrain types are there?
6
There are a total of 6 Terrain types: Forest, Village, Farm, Water, Monster and Mountain.
Related Rule(s)
What is Terrain?
See the following rule(s) to find an answer to this question.
Related Rule(s)
Am I forced to draw the shapes as they are drawn on the Explore cards?
No.
You can rotate and even mirror the Shapes shown on Explore cards.
Related Rule(s)
Am I required to connect all of my drawn Shapes?
No.
However, you might want to connect multiple Shapes in order to gain reputation from particular Scoring cards (ex. Lost Barony or Great City) and sometimes you want your Shape to be separated (ex. The Cauldrons or Shoreside Expanse).
Can I draw any Shape I want on my map?
No.
Related Rule(s)
Must I always draw the same Shape on my map?
No.
Related Rule(s)
What is a Shape?
See the following rule(s) to find an answer to this question.
Related Rule(s)
Can I gain more Coins than there are spaces at the bottom of my map?
No.
You can never gain more Coins than there are spaces at the bottom of your map.
Related Rule(s)
How do I keep track of my Coins?
You cross out or fill-in the coins at the bottom part of your map to keep track of how many Coins you have gained.
Related Rule(s)
Can I draw Wasteland spaces?
No.
These spaces are pre-drawn on the "B" side of player maps of the base game of Cartographers.
What is a Wasteland?
See the following rule(s) to find an answer to this question.
Related Rule(s)
When can a Ruins space be filled?
At any time
A Ruins space MUST be filled if able, after a Ruins Explore card is revealed. The specific Shape and Terrain that must be drawn on top of Ruin spaces will be shown on the next revealed Explore card. Otherwise, players can freely draw on top of Ruins spaces.
What is a Ruins space?
See the following rule(s) to find an answer to this question.
Related Rule(s)
Is a Ruins space considered to be filled?
It depends.
By itself a Ruins space isn't considered to be filled. However, as soon as any Terrain is drawn on top of it, it is considered to be filled.
Is Monster Terrain considered to be filled?
Yes.
Related Rule(s)
Is Wasteland space considered to be filled?
What is counted as a Filled space?
See the following rule(s) to find an answer to this question.
Related Rule(s)
Is a single Filled space considered to be a Cluster?
Yes.
Related Rule(s)
What is a Cluster?
See the following rule(s) to find an answer to this question.
Related Rule(s)
Does diagonal Adjacency count?
No.
Related Rule(s)
Which spaces are considered to be Adjacent?
Spaces that share a full single side are considered to be adjacent.
Related Rule(s)
How does the Cauldrons Scoring card works?
See the following rule(s) to find an answer to this question.
Related Rule(s)
How does the Lost Barony Scoring card works?
See the following rule(s) to find an answer to this question.
Related Rule(s)
How does the Broken Road Scoring card works?
See the following rule(s) to find an answer to this question.
Related Rule(s)
How does the Borderlands Scoring card works?
See the following rule(s) to find an answer to this question.
Related Rule(s)
How does the Shieldgate Scoring card works?
See the following rule(s) to find an answer to this question.
Related Rule(s)
How does the Great City Scoring card works?
See the following rule(s) to find an answer to this question.
Related Rule(s)
How does the Greengold Plains Scoring card works?
See the following rule(s) to find an answer to this question.
Related Rule(s)
How does the Wildholds Scoring card works?
See the following rule(s) to find an answer to this question.
Related Rule(s)
How does the Shoreside Expanse Scoring card works?
See the following rule(s) to find an answer to this question.
Related Rule(s)
How does the Mages Valley Scoring card works?
See the following rule(s) to find an answer to this question.
Related Rule(s)
How does the Golden Granary Scoring card works?
See the following rule(s) to find an answer to this question.
Related Rule(s)
How does the Canal Lake Scoring card works?
See the following rule(s) to find an answer to this question.
Related Rule(s)
How does the Stoneside Forest Scoring card works?
See the following rule(s) to find an answer to this question.
Related Rule(s)
How does the Greenbough Scoring card works?
See the following rule(s) to find an answer to this question.
Related Rule(s)
How does the Treetower Scoring card works?
See the following rule(s) to find an answer to this question.
Related Rule(s)
How does the Sentinel Wood Scoring card works?
See the following rule(s) to find an answer to this question.
Related Rule(s)
When do I add more Ambush cards to the Explore Deck?
Between Seasons
When preparing for a new Season you shuffle 1 random Ambush card into the Explore Deck.
How do I prepare for the next Season?
See the following rule(s) to find an answer to this question.
How many reputation do I lose for Monster Terrain on my map?
You lose 1 reputation for each adjacent free space around Monster Terrain. You can't lose more than 1 reputation per adjacent free space even if more than 1 Monster Terrain is adjacent to it.
Related Rule(s)
How much reputation do Coins give?
1 for each Coin.
You gain 1 reputation for each Coin you have gained.
Related Rule(s)
What happens at the end of a Season?
You gain points.
Related Rule(s)
When does a Season end?
See the following rule(s) to find an answer to this question.
Related Rule(s)
Can I draw a Mountain on my map after a Rift Lands card is revealed?
No.
A Rift Lands card allows players to fill a 1x1 space on their map with any of the following 5 Terrain types - Forest, Village, Farm, Water or Monster.
Related Rule(s)
What is a Rift Land?
See the following rule(s) to find an answer to this question.
Related Rule(s)
What happens if all Ruins spaces are filled and a Ruins card is revealed again?
If players can't legally draw any of the available Shapes over a Ruins space -OR- all Ruins spaces have been filled, then all player fill any 1x1 space with ANY Terrain type.
Related Rule(s)
Am I forced to draw over the Ruins space after a Ruins card is revealed?
Yes, if able.
Players must draw the next Shape from an Explore card over a Ruins space if able.
Related Rule(s)
What happens when a Ruins Card is revealed?
See the following rule(s) to find an answer to this question.
Related Rule(s)
What is a Ruin?
See the following rule(s) to find an answer to this question.
Related Rule(s)
Do I need to return the map sheet back to its owner after an Ambush card is revealed?
Yes.
The exchange of the maps happens only in order for players to draw the Monster Shape on their opponents maps. Afterwards, all maps are returned to their owners.
Related Rule(s)
Are Ambush cards shuffled back into the Exploration deck at the end of each Season?
No.
Each Ambush card can be triggered only once each game. After a revealed Ambush card is resolved it is returned back to the game box.
If an Ambush card is revealed after the Ruins card, am I required to draw the Monster Shape over a Ruins space?
No.
Ruin cards only affect the next Explore cards, thus the next Explore card revealed after the Ambush card will be affected by the Ruins cards, but not the Ambush card.
What happens if the required Monster Shape can't be legally drawn?
In a multiplayer game, you instead fill a 1x1 square with a Monster Terrain. In a SOLO game, you disregard the Ambush card and return it back to the game box.
Do I get to choose where to draw the Monster Shape when an Ambush card is revealed?
No.
Monster Shapes are drawn by each players neighbour. The specific neighbour is determined by the direction of the arrows on the Ambush Card itself.
Related Rule(s)
Which of my neighbors draws the Monster Shape on my map when an Ambush is revealed?
It depends.
Each Ambush card has circular arrows on the left side. These arrows indicate the direction in which players pass their maps for a Monster Shape to be drawn.
Related Rule(s)
What happens when an Ambush card is revealed?
See the following rule(s) to find an answer to this question.
Related Rule(s)
Do I get a Coin every time an Explore card with a Coin is revealed?
No.
You must draw the specific Shape that has a Coin symbol next to it in order to receive it.
Related Rule(s)
Can I gain Coins from Explore cards?
Yes.
Related Rule(s)
How can I gain Coins?
Various ways.
Related Rule(s)
What is a Coin?
See the following rule(s) to find an answer to this question.
Related Rule(s)
When do I receive a Coin from a Mountain?
Once all of its surrounding adjacent spaces have been filled.
Are Mountains considered to be filled spaces?
Yes.
Can I draw Mountains?
No.
Mountains are already pre-drawn on player maps.
Related Rule(s)
What is a Mountain?
A Mountain is a pre-drawn filled space on players maps.
Can I draw any Shape I want?
No.
Players are required to draw the Shape that are depicted on the revealed Explore cards. There can sometimes be a choice of two different Shapes on an Explore card and players have to choose one to draw on their maps.
Related Rule(s)
Can I choose not to draw anything?
No.
Players must draw a new Shape on their maps each round.
Related Rule(s)
Can I draw the Shapes anywhere I want?
Almost.
What do I do, if I can't draw the required Shape?
You fill any single (1x1) square instead with the required Terrain Type.
Can I draw over the edge of the map?
No.
Related Rule(s)
Can I draw over the Wasteland?
Can I draw over Mountains?