Do I show the cards I discard to other players?
You discard cards to a facedown discard pile, without revealing them to other players.
Can I look through the discarded cards in the discard pile?
The discard pile is facedown, and you are not allowed to look at the discarded cards.
If a worker is deployed, can they still gather resources from the point they are deployed on, and does that count as your turn?
You collect when you place your worker and only then.
When a worker is placed, when are the resources gathered from the location they are placed on?
When a worker is placed on a location, resources are gained instantly. This happens only once when the worker is placed.
What if I run out of a resource tokens?
You can use something else as a substitute.
Can I discard a Card from the Meadow that has a Rugwort's Worker on it?
Any Meadow card that one of Rugwort’s workers is on is totally blocked and cannot be played, drawn, or discarded by you.
Does Rugwort follow the 15 Card rule when building the City?
Rugwort can have more than 15 Cards in his City.
Do I have to include the Rugwort Cards to play?
All Rugwort cards are optional, as they are quite mean.
What does the Card's color mean?
Each Card has a type. There's are five different Card Types.
Are Events added to the City?
Events are added next to the city and they are not added to the 15 card maximum.
Can multiple Workers be placed in Haven?
There is no limit to the amount of workers that may be placed on it, even of the same color.
Am I allowed to Place two Workers to a single location?
See if the location is shared or exclusive. Exclusive locations are marked with a paw symbol with a full circle around it, shared location's paw symbol has a circle open at the bottom.
Where am I allowed to Place a Worker?
Locations where you're allowed to Place a Worker are marked with a paw symbol.
Who takes the first turn of the game?
The most humble
The most humble player goes first. Note that the amount of cards each player have at the start depends on the order of play.
Do I have to Prepare for Season if I can't Play a Card or Place a Worker?
You will have to do the the Prepare for Season action if you can't Play a Card and all your Workers are deployed.
Where are my black workers?
Collector's Edition comes with six black Rodent Workers.
If I complete an event that requires a certain amount of city tiles and then I adjust my city and no longer have the requirements do I have to return that event?
If you have the requirements for an event and claim it, you are not required to keep those cards listed in the requirements. You can get rid of them later, if you choose.
Do you activate production cards in any order?
Production cards are activated in any order you choose during the season Production.
When you Prepare for Season, do you then wait for everyone else to finish that season before everyone progresses to the next season?
Each player does the Prepare for Season action in their own time.
Do resin and pebbles left on your Storehouse at the end of the game count for scoring the Architect?
If you do not place a worker there to collect them, you don’t have them.
If the Teacher activates when I have 7 cards in my hand, do I still draw 2 and give 1 to an opponent?
There are no exceptions to the 8-card hand limit. You would only draw 1 and keep it.
If I have the Judge, when I play a Critter or Construction, can I exchange a resource in my supply with another resource?
The Judge lets you trade resources while playing a card--so if a card requires 2 twigs and 1 resin, you can substitute one of the resources out with something else you have. You could play it for 1 twig, 1 resin, and 1 berry.
Can I play the Fool into my own city?
You can not play the Fool into your own city.
If I have a Shopkeeper and I play a new card such as a Monk/Doctor/Peddler, can I use the berry provided by the Shopkeeper as one of the resources that I pay/give/trade with the new card?
You will get the berry after resolving the effect from the card played.
If I initially play the Husband and Wife in separate spaces, can I later pair them up?
Husband and Wife must share a space right from the start or stay separated for the rest of the game.
If I have a paired Husband and Wife, can I later split them?
Husband and Wife can not be split once paired, however pairing them is optional.
If someone has a Husband/Wife pair, is the Wife card worth 3 points or 5 points (base 2 + bonus 3)?
5 points. All purple cards are worth their base points and their end game bonus points.
Are you able to remove a construction with Ruins that has workers permanently assigned to it?
You can remove a construction with permantently assigned workers, removing the workers from the game too.
When you use Ruins or University, do you get the exact same resources the card cost or any resources you choose equal to the total cost?
The exact resources
You get the exact resources of the card you discard.
If I have a Ranger and both cells of my Dungeon are empty, can I use both cells to reduce the cost of playing a card by 6 resources?
You can only do one at a time, not both.
If I have 15 cards in my city already, can I use the Dungeon/Crane/Innkeeper and play a new card in the (now free) space?
Yes, this could be done. And it could be a great strategy too!
When using the Peddler, do the resources need to match?
Resources do not need to match. You can pay 1 of any resource to gain 1 of any resource, two times.
Can I use the Miner Mole to copy a Storehouse? How does that work?
You cannot use a Miner Mole in your city to copy a Storehouse in another city. However, you could use a Miner Mole in your city to copy a Miner Mole in another city, then activate a Storehouse in your own city, placing the resources on your storehouse--not on the Miner Mole.
If I use my Miner Mole to copy my opponent's Farm and then activate my General Store, do I get the bonus berry?
You could copy a Farm and get a berry, but the Miner Mole wouldn’t remain on the Farm for your General Store.
Can the Ranger go in the second space of the Dungeon?
You are not allowed to put the Ranger in the second cell.
If you discard the Ranger, does the second Dungeon cell become unavailable, and you have to discard any critter in there?
If you later get rid of that Ranger, you keep the prisoner in the cell.
Is the Clock Tower's ability optional?
Clock Tower ability is technically optional, and it does require that you have a worker on a basic or forest location to activate it.
For card abilities that require you to place point tokens on the card, do these point tokens come from your pool or the general supply?
The Point Token are taken from the general supply.
Once I've reached my limit of 15 cards in my city, can I discard a card from my city to play a new one, or can I build over an existing card?
The only way to remove cards is through in-game effects, like the Dungeon, University, Ruins, etc.
Some cards specifically mention putting point tokens on them. If those cards are removed do you lose those points?
If you remove a card that has point tokens on it, you lose those point tokens. Only put point tokens on a card if it tells you to.
When do triggered effects come into play vs. the played card's effect?
The played card and its effects are resolved before any triggered events.
When told to give cards to someone else, can you choose to give them to an opponent that had a full hand, forcing the cards to get discarded?
You must choose someone who has room in their hand for all the cards, if possible.
If you discard a Critter gained for free from a Construction, do you discard the Occupied token?
You do not remove the Occupied token ever. Each Construction can only ever grant you one
Can I play a worker on a Destination card in the Meadow?
You can play a worker on a Destination card in your city, or in an opponent's city if it has the Open sign.
When using the Forest space that says, "Draw 2 Meadow cards and play 1 for -1 any resource", is playing the card mandatory?
It is optional to play the card.
When using the Forest space that says, "Draw 2 Meadow cards and play 1 for -1 any resource", does the card you play (for 1 less resource) have to be one of the 2 you drew?
You can also choose not to play a card at all.
Can you have multiple workers in the journey?
You may send more than one of your workers on a Journey, but the 5,4, and 3 Journey locations are exclusive, so only 1 worker of any color may be on them. Of course you also need to discard cards equal to the value of the spot you go to, so it isn't likely that you would send more than 1 worker there.
When do you score Event cards?
End of game
When there is a point symbol with a number printed on the point symbol, it refers to end game points. All of the Special Events have end game points of some kind, except for A Brilliant Marketing plan, which has you taking point tokens at the time you score it.
For the Performer in Residence, do the three berries come from the supply or from my own resources?
Your own Resources
You can place up to three berries from your supply on the card, which are then worth 2 points each at the end of the game.
When you pass and end the game, do you remove your workers from the board?
The Workers stay there.
After another player passes, can we still use his buildings?
If another player has passed, meaning they have finished the game, and they have an unblocked Destination card in their city with the OPEN sign, you may visit it with one of your workers.
Can I pass the Fool to my opponent if they've passed?
The Fool can be passed to an opponent even if they've passed.