Race to the North Pole

Frequently Asked Questions

menu
millainen on pelilauta?
Se on monimutkainen.
Related Rule(s)
Can I Sling over a player on the Base Camp?
No
You can not throw over another Pawn, whether it's in the base camp or not. Also, you can't ambush a pawn in the base camp.
If I receive a Storm hazard, does it happen immediately or after checking for the Storm?
Immediately
Hazards always happen as soon as the player receives them. Checking the Ice Mask Tiles happens on Phase 2).
Related Rule(s)
Does the Storm Hazard happen immediately?
Yes
You rotate the board immediately after you receive the Ice Mask Tile.
Related Rule(s)
Is there any other purpose for the Snowflake?
No
It's not mandatory to use either.
Related Rule(s)
How do I count the Storm Points?
You count the dots / pips in the upper right corner of the card. So for example, a sling card might have four dots, which means four points. Then if you add a dash card that has two dots, there's 6 points altogether in the Storm Pile.
Do I check the Storm immediately after I play a card and move afterwards?
No
You choose the card you want to use, make the action and then put that card to the Storm Pile.
Where do my Action Cards go after I play them?
See the following rule(s) to find an answer to this question.
Can I bring a pawn to the a Base Camp square that is already occupied?
Yes
Related Rule(s)
Can I ambush in Base Camp?
No
Related Rule(s)
Can I play the game with 5 players?
Yes!
Can I walk over a Hole in the Ice with the snowshoes?
No
Only over cracks in the ice.
What if the Hole in the Ice is in front of the North Pole entrance?
If there's a Hole in the Ice in front of the North Pole, you can't enter it until the game board rotates!
Related Rule(s)
What does the Hole in the Ice token do on the game board?
It makes that square unusable. You can't step on it, but you can pass it diagonally.
Related Rule(s)
Do the Pawns have special traits from the symbols or is it just flavor?
In the base game they are just for flavor.
Related Rule(s)
Is the North Pole Disc supposed to rotate when the Storm happens?
No
The only way for the North Pole disc to rotate is with the compass.
After the storm do which cards do I fill?
You always fill the cards in front of you. So if you played two cards and a storm happens, someone will be left with only 1 card to start their turn with!
Related Rule(s)
Do you fill up action cards AFTER you check for storm, so that the next players cards is left with less than three cards?
Yes
Related Rule(s)
What are the differences between the 1st and 2nd edition?
Art: The box art has been updated. Character names were removed from the Team Boards. Rulebook cover was remade. The style of the axle was improved to fit the theme better. Axle: Design was improved. Gameplay and Rules: No changes, but rule clarifications on wordings. Localization: Added new translations (English, French, German,Spanish English, Finnish, Swedish. Polish) Meeples: Pawn symbols are now engraved on pawns and the sticker sheet was removed. Two new wooden parts were added: a polar bear and a snowflake.
What if the board rotates in a way that in the beginning of my turn I don't have any cards?
You draw 3 new cards and decide whether you want to use an Equipment to play your turn.
Can I look the cards in the Draw Pile to see what direction the storm is going to hit?
No
Related Rule(s)
Can I pinch a card that I can not use immediately? For example a Sling card?
No
You can't pinch a card that you can't use.
Related Rule(s)
Can I pinch a card from someones backpack?
No
Only from the board.
Related Rule(s)
Can I move a card from my backpack to a free slot in front of me?
No
The only way to get rid of a card in your backpack is to use it. You can't move them anywhere.
Related Rule(s)
Can I pinch a card to my backpack?
No
If you pinch a card, you have to play it immediately.
Related Rule(s)
What side of the North Pole disc should I use?
For a normal game, the disc with 1 side open. For a team game, the side with 2-sides open. But you can mix and match if you want!
Can I use Snowshoes to enter North Pole from any direction?
No
The walls surrounding the North Pole aren't cracks on the ice, but walls. Pickaxe is used to enter the North Pole from any direction.
What card can I use to enter the North Pole?
When you're next to the entrance to the North Pole, the last step can be done with any movement card (any card with boot symbol on it) whether it's a straight step or a diagonal step.
How do I move around the North Pole?
You move on the "weak ice" squares as you would with in any other place on the game board. The only difference is that you can not step across the North Pole.
Can I go across the North Pole Disc with a diagonal movement?
No
The amount of points in the Storm Deck is much more than needed, what happens?
A storm strikes
The storm strikes immediately when 8 or more points are in the Storm Deck.
Do I always have to bring a pawn to a Base Camp in the beginning of my turn.
How do I use the Pinch card in my Back Pack?
You use the Pinch as you would if it was in front of you. You can steal an action card with Storm Points on it from the table and play it as you would normally.
Related Rule(s)
Can I pinch a card to my Back Pack (use my equipment with it)?
Yes
Can I pinch my own card?
No
Related Rule(s)
Can I pinch another Pinch card?
No
It does not have Storm Points on it.
Related Rule(s)
Can I sling over my own Pawn?
Well... no
You can't sling through or over Pawns on the board. But you might very well just use the Sling with that other pawn.
Related Rule(s)
Can the Polar Bear use my Pick Axe WITH the Sling card to ambush another player?
Of course!
Just remember to take an Ice Mask tile as a reward!
Related Rule(s)
Can the Polar Bear go to the North Pole?
Yes, in which case it's placed on the Score Board. It doesn't affect the game play after this.
Related Rule(s)
If I receive a fourth equipment, do I have to discard that one or can I choose?
You can choose which to discard (or use).
Related Rule(s)
Do I HAVE to play a card on my turn?
Yes
Do I discard the Storm Deck after I receive a Storm Hazard Ice Mask?
No
Related Rule(s)
What are Hazards?
See the following rule(s) to find an answer to this question.
Related Rule(s)
What are the Window Tiles?
The transparent windows are used on the top board. When a storms strikes and the top board is rotated, the information on the windowed tiles changes. Window tiles exist so that the Pawn standing on the window tile will move with the board when the storm strikes. Pawns can stand on windowed Tiles like any other square in the game.