Frequently Asked Questions

It this Fluxx?
Related Rule(s)
If it’s draw 1, play all but 1, I draw 2 cards if I have no cards. If I then play draw 4, do I draw 2 or 3 more? Is that extra card counted as a draw or ignored like the no hand bonus is?
This is VERY good question, which we are surprised hasn’t come up before! We had to sit down and really contemplate the situation to make a ruling on this. To recap, the Play All But 1 (New Rule) says “If you started with no cards in your hand and only drew 1, draw an extra card.” And, as we all know, when you play a card that increases the Draw amount, you get to draw the difference to increase your total cards drawn to the current New Rule in play. The way Andy framed the question is “Is the extra card one draws like a ‘salary advance’ on your regular draw allotment , or is it more like a ‘bonus’ on top of your regular draw?” After some thought we felt that what the Play All But 1 card is doing is more like a temporary modification of the Basic Draw rule, and, as such, would make the extra card part of your total Draw allowance for your turn. So, in the example presented in the question above, where (after having started with no cards, and Drawing 2) you have played Draw 4, you would draw only 2 additional cards (and continue to Play until you have only 1 card left in your hand).
Can you answer more of my questions on the internet?
Yes! Please visit us at LooneyLabs.com for more FAQs
Related Rule(s)
Do the cards you draw as part of the No Hand Bonus count towards the current Draw Rule?
No, they are drawn as a “pre-turn” action, as though those three cards were your pre-existing hand. You observe the current Draw rule after having drawn those cards.
Related Rule(s)
Can I use a “free action” at any time during my turn, or do I have to do it at the beginning?
You can take any of the “free actions” at any time during your turn: before you draw, in the middle of your plays, or after all your plays are done. In fact, your turn is not technically over until you have used, or declined to use those options. If you simply forget, however, and let the next person take their turn, your opponents are not required to point it out to you, and once the next person starts their turn, you’ve lost the option.
Related Rule(s)
If a card played as a result of Draw 3, Play 2, or Draw 2 and Use ‘Em causes me to draw extra cards, do they go into my set aside hand, or are they added to my “temporary hand”?
Set aside in hand
Any additional cards drawn to your hand should go to your set-aside hand.
If you play Use What You Take and pull a Keeper, do you use it on the person you took it from or does it go in your own Keeper collection?
You keep it
YOU play the card you stole, so you get to keep the Keeper.
Suppose I play Draw 2 and Use ‘Em and I draw two Goals, and one of them will cause my opponent to win. Can I play the two Goals in instant succession, with the one that doesn’t make them win on top?
No. Any time a Goal is played, it provides a chance for someone to win with those conditions. No matter how briefly that Goal is in play, it counts, and if someone meets the conditions in that instant, they win.
Do I get to play any cards or take any actions when it’s not my turn?
When it’s someone else’s turn, there’s not much you get to do – there are no cards you can play out of turn. But you will sometimes need to make minor decisions and perform card maintenance during other players’ turns. For example, if someone plays a Hand Limit and you have more cards in your hand than are allowed, you’ll need to decide what to keep and what to discard.
Related Rule(s)
If the Trade Hands card is played and the rest of the players have no cards, is that player required to give away the rest of his cards for nothing in return or is the action optional?
If you play the card, you have to carry out the action, so yes, you’d have to give away the rest of your hand and get nothing in return if everyone else is empty handed. It says on the card, “This is one of those times when you can get something for nothing.”Well, it’s also a time when you might give something away and get nothing back!
Can I look at the cards in the discard pile?
Yes, anyone can look through the discard pile at any time.
Related Rule(s)
Suppose it’s my turn, and the current Goal says you need two Keepers to win, and I have one of them, and someone else has the other Keeper on the table. Can I just grab it from him and win?
That would be cheating, unless you play the Steal a Keeper Action card which allows you to do exactly that.
When discarding cards because of a Limit rule, do you get to choose what to discard, or is it random?
Yes you choose
You get to choose.
Does a Hand Limit mean “hold the limit number, unless you already have fewer cards, in which case hold that lower number”?
Yes. It’s not a quota that you must draw up to in order to meet, it’s simply a cap on the number of cards you’re allowed to hold.
If there is a Hand or Keeper Limit rule in play when my turn begins, but, during my turn, the limit card is discarded. Do I still need to discard down to the limit that is no longer in play?
Nope! Just as Rules take effect immediately, their effects also cease the moment the rule disappears.
If I play a Keeper, and I already had a Keeper, do I have to discard the first one to play the new one? Is there a Limit to the number of Keepers I can have in play?
You can have as many Keepers in front of you as you want, unless a Keeper Limit New Rule card is played. Even then, you can play as many Keepers as the current rules will allow during your turn and only decide which ones to keep and which to throw away (so as to comply with the Keeper Limit) when your turn is over.
If Play All Rule is in play, and I receive more cards in my hand during my turn, do those cards have to be played as well? Will I always end all my turns with 0 cards in hand?
Related Rule(s)
Suppose the rule is Play 2 and for my second play I change the rules to Play 3. Do I play one more card or am I done because I played two?
Play 1 more card
All rules take effect immediately, so you would need to play one more card because the rules at that point had become Play 3.
Related Rule(s)
What if the Rules require me to Play 4 but I only have 2 cards?
Play all, end turn
Play as many as you can. Your turn ends when you have no cards left in your hand, even if you are supposed to play more.
Related Rule(s)
What if a New Rule, such as Play 3, contradicts the Basic Rules?
Place on Basic Rule
The New Rule still supersedes the Basic Rules, but the Basic Rules card does not get discarded. To help to avoid confusion, the New Rule can be placed to cover-up the portion of Basic Rules it replaces, as shown.
What happens if I want to play a New Rule but there’s already a New Rule in the center on the table? Does it replace the old New Rule, or do they peacefully co-exist?
If they contradict
It all depends on contradictions. There’s no limit on the number of New Rules that can be in play at once, as long as they don’t interfere with each other. If the New Rule you are adding has nothing to do with the existing New Rule, both rules remain. However, if both rules are about the same thing, for example how many cards to Draw, then the new card becomes the rule and the old rule is discarded.