Rescue:
You may do the Rescue action if your specialist is in a location shown on a rescue card that is currently on the rescue track. There must also be room in the vehicles in your location for all the animals on that rescue card.
Goal
Your goal is to meet or exceed the difficulty number shown in the upper left of the rescue card.
Roll the Dice
Roll both dice and add any bonuses (see below) to the sum of the two dice to determine the dice roll total. The time token will advance 1 space for each shown on the dice at the end of the Rescue action. The
does not add to your dice roll total, although it is still possible to complete a rescue if you have rolled
.
Increase Difficulty
Some difficulty numbers increase as the rescue card moves down the rescue track.
This rescue’s difficulty number is always 5
This rescue’s difficulty number increases (from 2 all the way up to 6) as it advances down the rescue track
Do not increase the difficulty for rescues in the Intro game. This rule is only used in the Standard, Heroic, Epic, and Legendary games.
Add Bonuses
Some rescues can be very hard to complete by only rolling the dice. For these rescues, it’s best to bring the specialists, equipment, and vehicles that grant bonuses.
Add bonuses to the dice roll total:
• If the specialist symbol shown with a matches your specialist card and you are the player rolling the dice, add +2 to the total since you specialize in these rescues. If this specialist is present but not rolling the dice, add +1 instead.
• Add +1 for every other specialist, equipment, and vehicle shown on the card that is also in the location.
• Other bonuses may be granted by logistics cards.
You may also spend reward tokens to affect the total:
• Spend 1 token to reroll 1 die. You may spend additional
tokens to reroll the other die or to reroll the same die several times. Rerolling may help you get a higher dice roll total or avoid advancing the time token.
• Spend 1 token to add +1 to the dice roll total. You may spend several
tokens to add more bonuses.
Outcome—Success!
After rolling the dice and adding any bonuses, if the dice roll total is equal to or greater than the rescue card’s difficulty number, then the rescue was a complete success and the animals involved are no longer in danger.
For example, if a rescue involved two dogs and your roll was successful, you’d load both dogs into vehicles in your location.
You must load rescued animals into a vehicle. You can’t put them directly into a shelter, even if there is one in your current location.
If you complete the rescue, collect the reward tokens pictured on the bottom-left corner of the rescue card. A indicates a reward token of your choice. If a specified reward token is not available in the supply, you do not get one.
After collecting the reward, flip the rescue card over so the back of the card is showing. The card will continue to fill its slot in the rescue track until it is eventually “pushed off” the bottom of the track and discarded.
Outcome—Failure!
If the dice roll total is less than the difficulty number, then the rescue didn’t go as planned.
You may try again on the same turn if you have any remaining actions, or other players may attempt to complete this rescue as normal on a future turn.
Advance the Time Token
Finally, advance the time token once for each result showing, resolving any effects triggered on the time track. (See: Advancing the Time Token on Step 2.)
Rescue Example:
The Rope Rescuer () does the Rescue action to help a large dog in Granite Ridge. She can do this because she is in Granite Ridge and there is room in the SUV for the large dog.
This rescue card is in slot 3 of the rescue track so she needs to roll a total of 6. She wants to complete it soon, because if she waits too long, it’ll get harder to complete. (If this rescue was in slot 5, she’d need to roll a 7 and if it was in slots 6 or higher, she’d need an 8!)
She rolls 1 and a 1 (a total of 2). Not nearly enough!
She’s not done though:
• Since the Swiftwater Technician () is in the rescue location, she adds another +1. (If the Swiftwater Technician was rolling the dice on his turn, he would have added +2 since his symbol has the
on it.)
• Since the SUV () is in the rescue location, she adds another +1.
• And since the rope rescue gear () is in the rescue location, she adds another +1.
Her total is now 5—still not enough! Luckily, she has an expertise token (). She spends it to bring her total to 6.
A) She needs
B) She rolls
C) She adds
She succeeds!
As a result, she:
• Puts the large dog in the SUV.
• Collects the reward tokens shown: and
.
• Flips the rescue card over in the rescue track to show that it has been completed.
If she had failed she could have used another action to try again.