Chess

Frequently Asked Questions

menu
How does the game end up in a draw?
There are several possibilities, see rule about draws.
Related Rule(s)
Do I have to promote my pawn?
Yes.
Related Rule(s)
Can I capture my own pieces?
No.
Related Rule(s)
Can I move off the board?
No.
Related Rule(s)
Can I move through other game pieces?
No.
Related Rule(s)
Can I move through my own game pieces?
No.
Related Rule(s)
Can I escape a check?
Yes.
If you cannot escape a check, then the situation is actually a checkmate, not just a check.
Related Rule(s)
When should I resign?
If you think there is no way for you to win, or at least get a draw, you can resign the game by clearly letting the other player know that you give up. Resigning means you lose the game.
Related Rule(s)
How to know if the game is in a dead position?
You simply need to evaluate all the possible moves and if there is no way for either player to advance the game situation through their moves, it's a dead position. In this situation the game ends immediately in a draw.
Related Rule(s)
What happens if I'm not being checked but I can't make a move.
A stalemate.
Related Rule(s)
Is stalemate a draw?
Yes.
Related Rule(s)
Can I escape a checkmate?
No.
If you are able to escape, then the situation was only a check, not a checkmate.
Related Rule(s)
Can I force a draw?
Only under certain conditions.
Related Rule(s)
Can I do castling twice?
No.
Castling can only be done with a king and a rook that haven't yet moved. After the first castling the king has moved and can no longer do castling.
Related Rule(s)
How many times can I do castling?
Once per game.
Related Rule(s)
What if I can't move?
The game ends immediately either in a checkmate or a draw.
Related Rule(s)
Do I have to play my turn?
Yes.
Related Rule(s)
Can I skip a move?
No.
Related Rule(s)
Can a knight move over other pieces?
Yes.
Related Rule(s)
Should I suggest a draw if I lose the queen?
Not automatically.
Queen is a powerful game piece, but it's still just a game piece. You could still have a competitive set of pieces on the board. Remember you can promote a pawn to a queen when it reaches its 8th rank.
Related Rule(s)
Can a queen move one square?
Yes.
Related Rule(s)
Is there a limit to how many queens I can have?
Technically the maximum number of queens you could have is 9, if you could managed to promote all 8 pawns into queens. This however is very, very unlikely.
Related Rule(s)
Can I have multiple queens in play?
Yes, when you promote pawns into additional queens.
Related Rule(s)
Can the king capture other game pieces?
Yes.
Related Rule(s)
Can the king be captured?
No.
A game of chess ends when a player's king is in checkmate, an inescapable situation.
Related Rule(s)
Can a king move more than one square?
Only when castling.
Related Rule(s)
Can I check with a king?
No.
Making a check with your king would put your own king into harm's way which is illegal in chess.
Related Rule(s)
Can a rook only move one square?
Yes.
Related Rule(s)
Can rook move as far as possible?
Yes.
Related Rule(s)
Can rook go over other game pieces?
No.
Related Rule(s)
Why does white go first in chess?
Player with the white pieces going first is a long custom in chess, kind of a "the youngest player starts" rule. Typically chess strategy guides and examples are made from this perspective and it'd be confusing to change this as board layout is also different for each player (white queen is to the left of the king, while black queen is to the right of the king).
Are queens on the same file?
Yes.
Queens are placed to the squares with their matching color, both on file e.
What is the correct way to align the game board?
So that both players have a white square on their right corner. For white player it should be h1 and for black a8.
Is bishop more valuable than a rook?
The are as valuable.
Related Rule(s)
Is knight more valuable than bishop?
The are as valuable.
Related Rule(s)
Is bishop more valuable than the rook?
No.
Related Rule(s)
Is rook more valuable than bishop?
Yes.
Related Rule(s)
What is the most powerful piece?
The queen.
Related Rule(s)
Why is en passant a rule?
En passant was added at the same time with the two-square advance opening move. It prevents a pawn from using the two-square advance to pass an adjacent enemy pawn without the risk of being captured.
Related Rule(s)
What is en passant?
A specific capture a pawn can perform.
Related Rule(s)
Who starts the game?
White.
How many squares can a Pawn move?
Pawns move one square with the exception of the pawn's first move, which can be two squares.
What is Check?
Check is a situation where the other player is threatening to capture your king. You must play your turn so that your king is no longer in check.
Related Rule(s)
What is Checkmate?
See the following rule(s) to find an answer to this question.
What is Stalemate?
See the following rule(s) to find an answer to this question.
When can I request for a draw?
Typically a player can suggest a draw after they have finished their move.
Related Rule(s)
Why does the bishop have a cut?
Bishop has a cut so it's easy to tell apart from a Pawn, which in some Chess sets look very similar.
Related Rule(s)
Can a Pawn move and capture straight forwards?
No, only diagonally.
Can a Pawn also move diagonally?
Only when capturing.
Pawn can move diagonally only when capturing, and only to the next rank (Pawns cannot move backwards).
Do I have to move a piece if I touched it?
In official competitions, you have to move a game piece if you touched it in an intention to move it. The only exception is that if the game piece cannot be legally moved. In casual games you don't have to move a piece even if you touched it. However, you shouldn't unnecessarily touch the game pieces.
Can I take back my turn?
After you have made your move and have let go of your game piece, you cannot undo your move. The only exception is that if your move was illegal, in which case you must undo it and play a legal move.
Can castling be done if a Rook has already been moved?
It depends.
Castling can only be done if the King and the Rook doing the castling have not been moved yet. It doesn't matter if the other Rook has been moved.
Related Rule(s)
Can castling be done if the King has already been moved?
No.
Castling can only be done if the King and the Rook doing the castling have not been moved yet. It doesn't matter if the other Rook has been moved.
Related Rule(s)
What is Queen's Gambit?
The Queen's Gambit is the chess opening that starts with the moves: 1. d4 d5 2. c4 It is one of the oldest openings and is still commonly played today. It is traditionally described as a gambit because White appears to sacrifice the c-pawn; however, this could be considered a misnomer as Black cannot retain the pawn without incurring a disadvantage.